SURPRISINGLY A MOST PLEASANT SATURDAY IN JAMAICA WITH THREE GOOD EVENTS

Rufus King Park Children’s Festival

I can’t remember when I had a most pleasant Saturday (or any other day for that matter) hanging out in Jamaica. With such great weather, sunshine,  and not humid at all, I took my bike out for a ride. I did not notice huge amounts of garbage or litter as I normally see nor did I see a shit load of homeless just loitering all over.

Checking out some of the new developments going on in the downtown area, including the old Immaculate Mary Hospital (when that is completed supposedly by 2018, it is going to very nice) and the really nice apartment building going up on 94th Ave & Sutphin, I headed to Rufus King Park where the Children’s Festival was going on with slides, merry go round, games, face painting and other activities. With the great day, there were tons of people at this event.

I then headed to the opposite corner at the Jamaica Performing Arts Center which was having their International Music Festival between 1pm to 10:30 pm, where the free outdoor concerts were going on. I plopped my bike down and listened to four jazz groups, The York College Alumni Big Band at 2pm, the Eric Lemon Trio at 3pm, singer/Guitarist Kita P at 4pm and my favorite at 5pm, Slum Suit, four very talented young folks including one of the members playing bag pipes, which I did not know how that would be with jazz, but it turned out to be my favorite with the bag pipes adding a mystic Celtic cool vibe to the mix.   I missed the first group, Afikumba Utibe Drummers because there was a Caribbean Festival going on at 160th in front of The Harvest Room that I checked out. Some good food and some damn good music groups.

The International Music Festival was having a concert at 9pm ($20) with the headliner concert, Topology Summit, which including Living Colour’s Vernon Reid, but after the long day I decided to chill at home.

Overall, a most surprising pleasant Jamaica afternoon and how Jamaica should be all the time, but once some of this new development is completed, I think we will see more of this as opposed to the usual nonsense. I think????

The York College Alumni Big Band

Eric Lemon Trio

Kita P

Slum Suit

Caribbean Festival

Caribbean Festival

Caribbean Festival

Caribbean Festival

 

Leave a Reply

